On writing

I know I should write more. Everyone who writes well, and a lot,  says that it’s important to write every day. Every day?!  Etty, my supervisor, has recommended this book, which she says has changed her life:  http://www.amazon.com/How-Write-Lot-Practical-Productive/dp/1591477433 .  I bought it today and cant wait for it to arrive.

Apparently it’s important to take an hour, every day, just to force yourself to write something. Stop waiting for that ‘inspiration’, but rather just sit down and start writing – even if whatever you write is garbage and you’ll never use it. It’s a skill that needs to be practiced and developed, just like a sport.   I’ll start doing that.  What time of day would be best for that? Afternoon? First thing in the morning? Maybe…

Today I’m starting, that’s it. Perhaps I’ll try writing, one hour a day, from 9-10am, with a nice cup of tea.  Now if I werent’ just such a commitment phob that might be easier 🙂

About aly

my blog: www.liveworkthink.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On writing

  1. Vicki says:

    So, have you kept up?!

  2. Vicki says:

    Also, how was the book!?

  3. alymeister says:

    No I haven’t kept up 😦 Sigh. But I swear that one day I will, really. The book was good – highly tailored to ‘academic’ writing, and i”m not that far along yet that I’m writing books and publishing papers. So it’ll be even more useful in a few years…..

Leave a Reply

